Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: 2014 News Items

The 4th SACQSP Council

Thursday, 13 March 2014  
Posted by: Bert vd Heever
Share |

The 2014 – 2017 SACQSP Council Members have been appointed by the Minister of Public Work, and at the Inaugural Council Meeting held Friday, 28th February 2014. The following are the office bearers;

Kathy Michell (Prof) - President
Nazeem Khan - Vice-President
Hoffie Cruywagen
Deen Letchmiah (Dr)
Thembi Matunda
Gert Meyer
Ian Moss
Jones Naidoo
Nonku Ntshona
Barry Probert
Elmarie Deetlefs
Akhona Majova
Edward Mokoena
Phyllis Difeto (Adv) (Public Interest Representative)
Lucien Pierce (Public Interest Representative)

A brief profile of all Council members can be viewed on the SACQSP website. The Minister is yet to appoint 2 additional Council members to replace 2 early resignations.

The Council has highlighted a number projects that they wish to tackle over the next 4-years including;
  • New tier of registration to include non-consulting quantity surveyors
  • Educate State departments to tender for professional appointments based on service and training instead of price
  • Greater enforcement of the Code of Professional Conduct and the anticipated promulgation of the ID of Work
  • Greater attention to the standards of QS education being offered
  • Publicity and promotion of the profession to the public and government
  • To entrench the QS profession as a vital player in the NDP and the SIPS projects
  • To lead the drive for funding for Candidate training and transformation